Board of Directors

Nick J. Jouriles, MD, FACEP – President Board Member

Nick J. Jouriles, MD, FACEP is the Chair of Emergency Medicine at Akron General Health System and Professor & Chair, Emergency Medicine, Northewast Ohio Medical University.  His Akron General Emergency Medicine residency is one of the oldest training programs in the world.  He is Past President of the American College of Emergency Physicians and an examiner for the American Board of Emergency Medicine.  He has served on and led many regional, national and international emergency medicine committees.  He has designed emergency medicine education programs and curricula for medical students, residents and post training learners.  His publications center on education, policy and operations, particularly freestanding emergency departments. 

James J. Augustine, MD, FACEP–Vice President and Board Member

James J Augustine, M.D., FACEP is the Vice President of the Emergency Department Benchmarking Alliance (EDBA).  He is an emergency physician and a member of the Board of Directors of the American College of Emergency Physicians.  He serves as a Clinical Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio. Jim is the Chair of the National Clinical Governance Board for U.S. Acute Care Solutions, in Canton, Ohio. Dr. Augustine served as chair for The Joint Commission Hospital Professional Technical Advisory Committee and on the Board of Commissioners.  He is a national consultant, author, and speaker on emergency department operations and design.

John Lyman, MD – Treasurer and Board Member

John Lyman, MD, is a residency trained, emergency medicine boarded physician.  He completed his emergency medicine residency training at Wright State University in 1983, having completed undergraduate school at the University of California and medical school at Wright State University. He currently serves as a Regional Medical Officer and the Director of Emergency Medicine Residency Relations with Premier Physician Services, an E M management group based in Dayton, OH.   He additionally is a clinical professor with the Wright State University School of Medicine. Current affiliations include The Wright State University Foundation Board (trustee), & the Wright State University Academy of Medicine (trustee and past Chairman), the Ohio Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians (board member & President-Elect).  Dr. Lyman is a member of the American College of Emergency Physicians, the American Medical Association, the Montgomery County Medical Society, the American Academy of Emergency Physicians, & the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine.  Additional affiliations include the Emergency Department Practice Management Association (past Board Chairman) and the Aeromedical Section of the American College of Emergency Physicians (Founding Chairman). Dr. Lyman continues as an active member of Rotary International.


Bruce D. Janiak, MD, FACEP, FAAP - Board Member 


Department of Emergency Medicine and Hospitalist Services. Dr. Janiak earned his Doctorate of Medicine at the University of Cincinnati and completed his internship and residency in emergency medicine at Cincinnati General Hospital before spending three decades at The Toledo Hospital. He currently serves as a Professor of Emergency Medicine at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University in Augusta, Georgia.  His experience offers a broad understanding of adult and pediatric clinical emergency medicine and the administration of emergency medicine, including telemedicine. National leadership has earned Dr. Janiak much respect in the industry.  He served as President of the American Board of Emergency Medicine, President of the American College of Emergency Physicians, and President of the Emergency Department Benchmarking Alliance, an organization that defines the best clinical and administrative practices. He is a lecturer and instructor, as well as an author, and has been published through out numerous articles in the Annals of Emergency Medicine, Emergency Medicine News, Topics in Emergency Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Ohio State Medical Association Journal and many others. Dr. Janiak is a general emergency consultant and also specializes in medical legal consulting and is considered an expert witness in Emergency Medicine.


Deb Richey, RN – Board Member 

Deb Richey, BS, MPA, is an RN with over 25 years of leadership experience.  She completed her nursing degree at St. Joseph School of Nursing in Fort Wayne, IN where she became an experienced clinician in multiple nursing specialties resulting in her promotion to ER Manager in 1982.  She completed her BS in Health Arts at St. Francis University in 1991, and her Master of Science in Public Administration with Concentration Public Health Management at IPFW in 2003.  She received her Certificate from Harvard Business Design in 2007. Opened state of art Emergency Department 2012. She has been leader for a number of ER's from 14,000 to 99,000 visits.  She has worked with both NE IN major local health systems and the Allen County EMS System in a variety of roles, including EMS Coordinator, ER Nursing Director and ER/EMS Service Line Nursing Leader.  Served as Interim CNO for Parkview Health Allen County Hospitals.  Adjunct Faculty for IU SPEA @ Fort Wayne Campus.  VHA IN/OH/MI Emergency Department (Chairman).  Mayor's Commission on Rape, DV, and Sexual Assault (Board Member).  ENA Chapter 365 (Past President/Secretary). FW/Allen County EMS Standards Committee. Allen County EMA Board.  IPFW Community Health Community (Board Member).  Parkview Field Event and Baseball Stadium-First Aid Services Coordinator. Lectured nationally ER Process Improvement, ER Billing and Coding, Customer Service, ER Leadership, and ER Quality Topics.  Currently Independent ER Nursing Consultant and Adjunct Faculty IVY Tech College in Fort Wayne, IN. 

Shari Welch, MD, FACEP, FACHE – Board Member

Shari Welch, MD, FACEP, FACHE is currently a Fellow at the Intermountain Institute for Health Care Delivery Research and is a practicing emergency physician with Utah Emergency Physicians and Greater Houston Emergency Physicians.  She is board certified in Emergency Medicine and has passed the Board of Governor’s examination of the American College of Healthcare Executives.  She recently became EDAC certified (Evidence Based Design).   Dr. Welch was formerly the QI Director for the emergency department at LDS Hospital, the flagship hospital for Intermountain Healthcare. She was appointed to the faculty at the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) for their ED Collaborative and has served as a consultant on ED operational efficiency and safety. She has served as a technical expert for CMS and for the Canadian Health System in ED quality improvement.  Dr. Welch has written a regular column in Emergency Medicine News titled “Quality Matters.” She has written four books on ED Quality and Safety and has published over two dozen articles in medical and quality journals.  The latest book on Risk Management for the ED has recently been released by Health Administration Press. She has spoken at the National Forum, ACEP, and the ACHE Spring Congress and Clusters.


Bob Edmondson, FACHE - Board Member

Senior healthcare industry leader with deep experience in strategic planning, business development, joint ventures, and project management for physician groups, health systems, and post-acute providers. Collaborates across the healthcare spectrum to drive value innovation and enhance health of populations. Leader in building value-based systems for risk, including ACO's, shared savings and Bundled Payments for Care Improvement (BPCI). Specialties: Healthcare innovation, strategic planning, population health, disease management, business development, physician network growth, joint ventures, start-ups, remote technology.